Everything You Need To Know About the Traffic Point System in Missouri

Everything You Need To Know About the Traffic Point System in Missouri

Everything You Need To Know About the Traffic Point System in Missouri

Comments Off on Everything You Need To Know About the Traffic Point System in Missouri

If you are arrested for a moving violation in Missouri, a traffic ticket or a fine may be the least of your problems. Most moving violations come with points that will show up on your driving record. These points can take a serious toll on the status of your license.

The Basics of the Missouri Point System

The less points you accrue, the better. Ideally, you should have zero.

In the event of a moving violation, you will receive a designated number of points. If you have received 4 points within 12 months, you will be sent a point accumulation advisory letter by the MO Department of Revenue (DOR).

If you have reached a certain number of points within a certain time, you will face additional consequences.

Your license will be suspended if you receive 8 points or more within 18 months.

  • 30 days for your 1st suspension
  • 60 days for your 2nd suspension
  • 90 days for your 3rd suspension

Your license can be revoked for 1 year if you receive:

  • 12 or more points within 12 months
  • 18 or more points within 24 months
  • 24 or more points within 36 months

It is possible for some of these points to be reduced over time, however, depending on the nature of the violation, some violations may remain on your driving recorded indefinitely.

How Long Violations Affect Your MO Record

Generally speaking, MO moving violations will remain on your driving record for 3 years at the very least, and that’s after you’ve paid your MO traffic ticket. In more serious cases, moving violations may remain on your record for even longer.

  • If you have had your license suspended or revoked because of a ticket, the violations could remain on your record for up to 5 years, and that doesn’t even begin until the day your license was reinstated.
  • Certain traffic violations, such as failure to maintain insurance, can result in violations remaining on your record indefinitely.

Points & The Severity of Your Violation

The severity of your violation determines how many points you receive.

Common Violations: These typically involve a low amount of points, and these may also be contingent on the number of violations committed. Some of the less serious violations may carry:

  • Careless and imprudent driving: 2 points
  • Excessive speeding: 3 points
  • Driving without a license or permit: 4 points
  • Knowingly allowing an unlicensed driver to drive: 4 points

Severe Violations: These involve another schedule in accordance with The Missouri DOR, and can become much more severe after subsequent offenses. These offenses can include:

  • DUI: 8 points
  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license: 12 points
  • Obtaining a driver’s license by misrepresentations: 12 points

Moving violations committed by commercial motor vehicle drivers may result in additional consequences.

How To Reduce MO Driving Record Points

Over time, your points will be reduced in phases by the MO Department of Revenue. For every year you go without receiving any moving violations, points will be removed.

  • ⅓ of your points will be removed if you go without moving violations for 1 year
  • ½ of your points will be removed if you go without moving violations for 2 years
  • Your points will be reduced to 0 if you go without moving violations for 3 years

Taking a MO Driver Involvement Program may accelerate the process. To verify whether taking one of these programs can reduce the total number of points on your license, contact the Missouri DOR.

As stated above, certain violations may remain on your driving record indefinitely, even if your points have been reduced to zero.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I check my driver record? Call (573) 526-2407 to obtain information regarding traffic tickets, suspension and revocation related information, and other pertinent info.
  • How can I get my driving privilege reinstated? This depends entirely on the type of suspension, revocation, or denial actions on your record. Contact the Missouri Department of Revenue for more information.
  • Where do I appeal my suspension/revocation/denial of my driver’s license? These can be appealed in the circuit court of the county in which you live. This must be done within 30 days following your notice of suspension/revocation/denial.

Clare Louise

Related Posts

The Benefits of Peer to Peer Lending

Comments Off on The Benefits of Peer to Peer Lending

3 Reasons to Purchase Personalized Photo Gifts

Comments Off on 3 Reasons to Purchase Personalized Photo Gifts

How and where to start on the Skinmarket?

Comments Off on How and where to start on the Skinmarket?

An Alternate way to Have Fun and make some Extra Money during Leave

Comments Off on An Alternate way to Have Fun and make some Extra Money during Leave

5 Misconceptions That Increase Your Energy Bills

Comments Off on 5 Misconceptions That Increase Your Energy Bills

What Is That One Thing You Require To Make Your Business Successful

Comments Off on What Is That One Thing You Require To Make Your Business Successful

Importance of student ID cards

Comments Off on Importance of student ID cards

Reasons to link Aadhar card to PAN card

Comments Off on Reasons to link Aadhar card to PAN card

Samsung Tab E Lite Review

Comments Off on Samsung Tab E Lite Review

Tips to Save Money When Planning Your Wedding

Comments Off on Tips to Save Money When Planning Your Wedding

Four Common Types of Borescopes

Comments Off on Four Common Types of Borescopes

A Smart Guide To Planning Your Later Life Care

Comments Off on A Smart Guide To Planning Your Later Life Care

Create Account



Log In Your Account